Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community



An Honorary Fellowship is the highest honour of the AIP and only awarded to distinguished persons intimately connected with physics, or a science allied thereto, whom the Australian Institute of Physics especially desires to honour for outstanding services in connection with that science.

Current Honorary Fellows

Name State 
Prof David Booth VIC
Prof Robert Crompton ACT
Prof Robert Delbourgo TAS
Dr Cathy Foley AO PSM NSW
Prof Tony Klein VIC
Prof Brian Schmidt ACT

Past Honorary Fellows

 NameState  Year Became Hon Fellow YOB-YOD 
Walter Moritz Boas VIC19791904–1982
William Stevenson Boundy SA19901922-1999
George Henry BriggsNSW19641893-1987
John Robert de Laeter WA1992 1933-2010
Arthur Frederick Alan Harper NSW1975 1913–1991
Herbert R Lang UK1965 1904-1965
Keith Campbell Lang VIC1970 1908-?
John Francis Nicholas VIC 19621927-2017
Sir Marcus Laurence Elwin "Mark" Oliphant  1901-2000
Geoffrey Ivan OpatVIC 20021935-2002
Arthur Anthony Page  QLD 19911922–2011
John Russell PrescottSA 19911924-2011 
Charles Henry Brian (Bill) Priestley VIC 19821915-1998
James Stanley RogersVIC 19641893-1977
Alexander David RossWA 19641883–1966
Brian Milton Spicer VIC 1928-2004
Robert StreetWA19921920-2013
John Lloyd Symonds NSW 1924-2017
Sir Alan Walsh VIC 19791916-1998 
Hugh Colin Webster VIC 19701905-1979 
Sir  Frederick William White ACT 19701905-1994 

If you are aware of any errors or omissions with this list, please contact the AIP. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software