Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in



The Australian Institute of Physics has several awards for excellence in some aspect of Physics. They are usually based on the research contributions of the individual or group concerned.

There are many individuals within the AIP who give great amounts of time and effort to the furtherance of Physics as a discipline. While some of these would also be contenders for one or other of the more research oriented awards, others would not. They tend to be quiet achievers, sometimes more devoted to teaching and its development than to research.

The AIP inaugurated an award for Outstanding Service to Physics in Australia in 1996. The Award will be open to members of the AIP. There will be no more than three awards nationwide in any one year. A Selection Committee, which will be appointed by the Executive, will reserve the right to make no awards in any one year.


The AIP Award for Outstanding Service to Physics will recognise an exceptional contribution on the part of an individual. Nominations may be made by a Branch Committee or by three members of the AIP. Nominations should be accompanied by a clear one or two page citation describing the outstanding service given by the nominee.

Nominations for the Award will be called for each year. The results of the decision of the judging panel will be announced in November of each year.

Further Information and Application Submission

A call for nominations will be made in Australian Physics each awarding year. The closing date for nominations is 1 June. Further information about this award can be obtained from the AIP Special Projects Officer

Applications and nominations should be sent by email to  the AIP Special Projects Officer

Previous Winners

  • 2019 Prof. Ken GH Baldwin (for outstanding service to physics in Australia, including supporting the groups that became Science and Technology Australia, and for his original vision in establishing Science Meets Parliament)
  • 2017 Prof. Brian W James (for service with distinction to the AIP over many years, including leadership, input into the K-10 Science and Senior Physics curriculums, and most notably Editor of Australian Physics)
  • 2016 Dr Cathy P Foley (for outstanding service to the discipline of Physics over many years, including leadership, outreach and research)
  • 2013 Prof. David N Jamieson (for outstanding service to the Discipline of Physics over many years, including contributions to outreach, physics education, research and leadership, particularly in the Einstein Year of Physics and development of the Decadal Plan for Physics)
  • 2008 Prof. Hans (H-A) Bachor
  • 2007 Prof. John (DJ) O’Connor (for the development of the Science and Engineering Challenge and services to the AIP and FASTS)
  • 2007 Prof. Colin Kaye (for his contributions as editor for all versions of the publication of the AIP for many years)
  • 2003 Ms Moira J Welch (for her outstanding service to the AIP, including her role as NSW Branch Chair and AIP Honorary Secretary)
  • 2003 Prof. John R Prescott (for many years of service, particularly in employment surveys and physics job advertisements)
  • 2002 Mr Dan O’Keeffe, Camberwell Grammar school ( for work on Physics education, at the national level, especially the Switched on to Physics program)
  • 2001 Professor Mike M Gore, ANU (for development of the Questacon Interactive Science Centre, now the National Science Centre in Canberra)
  • 1996 Professor Rod L Jory, ANU (among many other achievements, Prof Jory has organised the Australian Physics Olympiads teams)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software