Promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community

Log in



The Australian Institute of Physics accredits universities across Australia, upholding the standard of physics education in Australia. The aim of accreditation is to support the universities in providing high-quality physics education. Accreditation occurs every 5 years from the date of accreditation.  Graduates with qualifications from accredited universities are automatically eligible for admission to the grade of Member of the AIP.

If you would like to know more, please contact the AIP registrar on

Accredited Courses

Accredited universities can be found here.

Accreditation Documentation

Universities within Australia seeking accreditation of a degree by the AIP should consult the following document.

Accreditation documentation can be downloaded here.

The accreditation process is overseen by the Accreditation Manager, Prof Deb Kane; The members of the Accreditation Committee, from which panels are formed, are:

Prof Hans Bachor, ANU

A/Prof Heiko Timmers, UNSW Canberra

Prof John Holdsworth, Newcastle Univ.

Prof Deb Kane, Macquarie University

Prof Michael Wheatland, Univ. Sydney

Hon A/Prof Bill Zealey, Univ Wollongong

Prof Esa Jaatinen, QUT

Prof Tim Mclntyre, UQ

A/ProfJamie Trapp, QUT

Dr Margaret Wegener, UQ

A/Prof Murray Hamilton, Univ Adelaide

A/Prof Maria Parappilly, Flinders Univ.

Dr Judith Pollard, Univ Adelaide

Prof Jamie Quinton, Flinders Univ.

Dr Peter Jarvis, University of Tasmania

Prof Stephen Collins, Victoria University

A/Prof Brenton Hall, Swinburne University

Prof Salvy Russo, RMIT

A/Prof Martin Sevior, Univ Melbourne

Dr Geoff Swan, Edith Cowan University

A/Prof Nigel Marks, Curtin University

Prof Jingbo Wang, UWA

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software